Anise Almond Biscotti

Biscotti is the plural form of biscotto. The term originates from the latin word biscoctus, meaning “twice-baked.” It defines oven baked goods that are baked twice, so they are very dry and can be stored for long time. There are many different biscotti recipes nowadays. However, this one is the best among those I’ve tried. I usually have some biscotti and a cup of caffellatte for breakfast. It sounds like a very small meal, but actually it is not! It will make your day!

Why don’t you try it with me? Let’s get started!

All the ingredients at a glance

Ingredients

  • 245 g all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking power
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 135 g granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Anise seeds
  • 1/2 cup chopped coarsely Almond
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla extract (optional)

Tips

  • You can replace almonds with your favorite nuts, and also add 1/2 cup of dried fruit.
  • I highly recommend cocoa biscotti with pistachios. It is amazing! You can substitute 210 g all-purpose flour and 35 g unsweetened cocoa powder for 245 g all-purpose flour.
  • If your dough is still dry, add a some water little by little (for instance, 1/2 teaspoon at the time) and mix until you are satisfied with the consistency. You might also add some vanilla extract.

This recipe is adapted from Italian Dessert Recipes.

Peeled almonds and anise seeds

Biscotti dough before forming

A single loaf of biscotti dough

Tic toc tic toc!  About 25 minutes baking time

First cooling

Cut biscotti

Second cooling

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F).
  2. Coarsely chop peeled almonds if you want to toast them beforehand.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together: flour, baking power, and salt. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk eggs and sugar until color turns light yellow.
  5. Add all sifted dry ingredients to the egg mixture along with chopped almonds and anise seeds.
  6. On a lightly floured surface dough into a log about 30 cm (12 in) long and 10 cm (4 in) wide.
  7. Bake for 25 minutes or until the log turns light brown.
  8. Remove from oven and set aside to cool for about 10 minutes.
  9. Reduce the oven temperature to 160°C (325°F).
  10. Cut off a cooled log into slices 1.25 cm (1/2 in) thick by using a bread knife and place all slices cut side down on the baking sheet.
  11. Bake each side for about 10 minutes or until becomes enough dry and golden brown.
  12. Remove from the oven and let the biscotti cool down. Store in an airtight container.

Italian breakfast with biscotti and espresso coffee

Here are the Anise Almond Biscotti with espresso coffee.

Buon appetito!

36 thoughts on “Anise Almond Biscotti

  1. Pingback: Homemade dog treats with anise is a totally tasty treat for dogs

  2. Pingback: Homemade Dog Treats with Anise | Blog Barks

  3. Pingback: Italian Bread | bellacorea

  4. Pingback: Homemade dog treats with anise is a totally tasty treat for dogsBlog Barks | Blog Barks

  5. 우앙 ㅠㅠ 왕맛있겠어요 ㅠㅠ
    무슨맛이에요?
    사진만있어서 어떤맛인지 엄청 궁금하네요..ㅎㅎ
    영어는 읽지않고 사진만봤어요.(혹시 영어로 맛이 써있나요?)
    저는 지금 몸이 좀아파서 죽을 먹었는데..
    이걸보니까 언능 나아서 쿠키사먹으러 가야겠어요 ㅎㅎ

    • 사실 내가 나중에 만들고 싶은 요리책이..바로 그런거야.. 보기만해도 만들 수 있을꺼 같은..자신감이 붙는..ㅎㅎㅎ 뭔소린지 알지? 나중에 한국에 가면 맛보여줄꼐! 그리고 건강하고! 꽃샘추위가 더 무섭다잖아~

  6. Pingback: anise-almond biscotti with orange glaze | homeingreece

  7. Pingback: Whole Wheat and Cocoa Biscotti | bellacorea

  8. I love biscotti and its been on my to do list for ages. After seeing this I’ve slotted some biscotti baking into my schedule. These look lovely and your recipe is great🙂

    • I’m so glad you like my biscotti and hoping this recipe can make you happy as I am! Please try the cocoa biscotti with pistachios I mentioned above! That is also really good!!! Thank you so much

  9. I adore anise biscotti! I made something similar to this based on something I ate on a Greek island, and wrote a post about it but it won’t post for a few more days. I’ll include a link to your post here to spread the anise biscotti love🙂

    • Thanks! I baked anothr biscotti yesterday(cocoa with pistachios, whole wheat biscotti with pecans). They turned out pretty good! I will post them in a few days.. and I’m so happy you like my biscotti recipe! and I appreciate so much!

  10. Wow it seems so yam! I love biscoti!!! Is it possible to use wholegrain flour instead of refined one? I guess it wouldn’t be the same amount and also baking time varies….plz give me some advise🙂

    • hello! hahaha this comment took forever! since I’m not a professional bakery chef, the only one way I can tell you is to experiment! so I did it! I baked whole wheat biscotti with pecans as same recipe I posted(but half portion) apprantely I needed 5 Tablespoons whole wheat flour more! So, for the quantities in the original recipe, about 75 g (10 tablespoons) more whole wheat flour are needed. I posted the picture on my kitchen category. Sorry for belated comment! Enjoy your biscotti!

  11. First of all, your blog is gorgeous!! Secondly, YUM! I can’t wait to try making this; though I may be going up a size or 2 if I keep making all these amazing treats!🙂

    Blessings,
    Cara

  12. Congratulations for this wonderful blog! I have just discovered it clicking on Shizuoka Gourmet and am very happy to get to know you. Your biscotti look fantastic!

  13. Dear Friend!
    Greetings from Robert-Gilles in Shizuoka, Japan at http://shizuokagourmet.com/!
    Thank you so much for visiting and writing a nice comment on the Missus’ bento!
    Biscotti have become a universal favorite!
    High quality Italian restaurants here serve them with coffee at the end of meals!
    Yours are certainly beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Best regards,
    Robert-Gilles

    • Thank you for stopping by! I’m so glad you like my biscotti! onec again! I love your bento project because it reminds me my lunch time at school in the past. My mom prepared it for me every single day until I graduated high school. It was fun to share my lunch with classmates.. um… I miss that time!🙂 Thank you for brings me all beauriful memories! You made my day!

Please cheer me up! Thank you!

