Spaghetti Aglio Olio e Peperoncino

Spaghetti aglio olio e peperoncino is one of the simplest, fastest and classic Italian dishes. I fall in love with Italian food with this dish: I was amazed how the right amount of ingredients can bring out a very distinct flavor. It has already been my favorite Italian dish since long ago. However, when I was in Italy, I noticed that it did not require a lot of olive oil and garlic as I had seen in many recipes. As you know, too much is as bad as too little! You will need only a few ingredients – spaghetti, garlic (aglio), oil (olio), chili (peperoncino) and Italian parsley – in the right amount.

Spaghetti, garlic, chili and Italian parsley

Servings: 1       Preparation: 5 mins       Cooking: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 90 g spaghetti
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • 1 small dried red chili pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon fresh chopped Italian parsley
  • 2 tablespoons coarse salt

Tips

Even though spaghetti aglio olio e peperoncino is a very simple dish, it does not mean that you can always make it perfect. That’s because there are a few tips you must know before cooking pasta. I would like to share something I learned from my mistakes! I know most of you already knew how to cook pasta properly, however, I hope everybody can cook pasta the right way!

  • Plenty of water
    At least 3-4 liters of water in a large pot. If water is not enough or a pot is too small, pasta will cook unevenly and stick together.
  • Coarse salt
    The best time to add coarse salt is after water is boiling. I used to put only a pinch of salt, but that was not enough! Coarse salt is especially convenient when used by hand.
  • Cooking time
    The best way is to check first the suggested cooking time on the package, and then set a timer 2 or 3 minutes earlier. When the alarm fires, check the condition of pasta so that it is al dente. Keep in mind that pasta will continue to cook on the pan with the sauce, as well as in the pasta bowl. Therefore you should serve it as soon as possible.
  • After pasta is ready
    Drain pasta and keep some of the water, in case you may need for the sauce. Remember: do not wash nor rinse pasta!
  • Chili
    If you like a mildly spicy flavor, you can remove seeds from the dried chili before cooking.

Here are more detailed tips on how to cook pasta.

Here we go! It is well done!

Preparation

  1. Prepare sliced garlic, chili pepper and chopped Italian parsley. Set aside.
  2. Bring a large pot with plenty of water to a boil. Cover it with a lid, so as to help water to boil faster.
  3. Once water is boiling add coarse salt. Add spaghetti and stir with a wooden spoon a few times.
  4. In the meantime, heat extra-virgin olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add the sliced garlic and the chili. Cook them until light golden brown.
  5. When spaghetti are al dente, drain them well and immediately move them into the garlic oil sauce pan. Add the chopped parsley and toss.

How simple but also how delicious!

Here is my simple pasta, spaghetti aglio olio e peperoncino!

Buon appetito!

51 thoughts on “Spaghetti Aglio Olio e Peperoncino

  1. Pingback: Food Trip: Dinner at Olio’ « Cebu Live!

      • It’s going well. I have had a huge hit with my last photos attracting over 1,200 views. I did work hard on the composition, so it’s nice to see it pay off.
        Yeah that can be tricky when you first start. There are two ways I get around it. The first is to use the grid on the camera if your camera has that function and the second is to take wide shots, and then edit them with the crop tool that has a grid (rule of thirds grid) to see where things should be placed!

      • wow! Congratulations, Rachel! I’m happy for you! You deserve it!!! I do love your work with pomegranate Seed,too! I bet you had so much fun with it, didn’t you? and as usual thanks again for your nice advices how to catch up good shots! Fortunately my camera has that function! so now I’m using a grid screen! That is much easy to focus on rule of thirds!! I appreciate it!!

      • Well that is great. That is how I learned and now it comes naturally to me! Although, always remember rules are meant to be broken! So just think of it as a guideline and not a rule. I do like to use it though. Thanks, yes I loved that shoot. I am so happy with the lighting.

  2. Pingback: Does Shape Matter « jovinacooksitalian

  3. I especially love Italian food because of its noodle/pasta focus much in the same way that Korean food boasts a wealth of noodle dishes. I find it interesting that the link between these two food cultures is the noodle (one of the best foods there is!)

Please cheer me up! Thank you!

