Basil & Apple Tree

I have to tell you something: I was a plant killer! Honestly I still do not know what I did wrong to my all poor plants in the past. I watered them regularly and even marked on my calendar when I was supposed to. In addition, I considered whether they got enough sunlight or not. So? What was wrong with me? Maybe you can tell me more about this. Anyway, you might have noticed that I said I was a plant killer. Not anymore! At least for now😉 As you can see from the picture, now I have a healthy basil family and even a tiny apple tree! Follow their story on my diary below!

Basil family and an apple tree (May 31, 2012)

April 12, 2012
Today I sowed about 25 basil seeds in a small plant pot. Hopefully this time they will grow well! I do not want to kill them anymore. Please…

April 19, 2012
Uhm… my basil seeds still did not wake up from sleep. Did I do something wrong again?

April 22, 2012
Aha😉 I discovered that usually basil needs about 2 or 3 weeks to germinate from a seed, so I still need to wait some more days. Be patient! They are coming!

Three cotyledons of basil (April 26, 2012)

April 26, 2012
Eventually I saw three cotyledons of basil in the pot! I almost cried! By the way, I had an apple after dinner and found inside one seed that sprouted! How is it possible? I wondered if it could grow up with my basil, so I sowed it next to it in the same pot. I can hardly wait! Maybe one day I could make basil pesto and have an apple from a tree! It would be awesome!

May 1, 2012
Three basil plants have their first set of true leaves, but the others two do not look right… I need to check tomorrow morning again.

Three sets of true leaves of basil and an apple cotyledon (May 5, 2012)

May 5, 2012
Ha ha ha😀 I can not believe what happened in my plant pot! The apple seed germinated itself well! Can you believe it? I could see the apple cotyledon (on top of a image above). The first thing I do in the morning is to check those basil and this apple tree. I feel like I have pets at home! They are so cute!

Basil family and an apple cotyledon (May 8, 2012)

May 8, 2012
Some of basil are dead. So sad! However the apple tree looks better and better, with a vivid green stem. What a good feeling!

They are doing great! (May 13,2012)

May 13, 2012
Finally all plants have true leaves, including the apple tree. The biggest basil has two sets of true leaves. Ha😉

May 19, 2012
A length of day in Finland has now more than 17 hours and the sunshine is too strong between 4 to 6 pm. Today I discovered that the apple tree was wilted by too much sun! Oh no! I moved it to a safe place, put a tooth pick right next to the apple tree help it stand, and watered. Please… cheer up!

The apple tree is getting so much better now (May 22, 2012)

May 22, 2012
Everyone is doing great! The apple tree is getting better now, and all basil plants are growing very well. I think there is enough chance for success… yeah!

Basil family, apple tree, and rosemary

May 31, 2012
Uhm… all plants need large individual pots because they have all more than two sets of true leaves. Time to get some soil and more pots!

It is a great experience! I should keep it up having herbs at home. I hope one day I will have a back yard big enough, so that I can plant whatever I want and pick them for cooking whenever I need. I learned so many new things (including new gardening-related words) and how to care of my indoor plants as well! If you have never done it before, I highly recommend you to give it a try! Here are some of useful websites that I got a lot of help.

White wildflower in Finland

Have a good week, everyone!

14 thoughts on “Basil & Apple Tree

  1. Congratulations on basil from seed. It is never a plant that I’ve tried, cause it takes so darn long. Always “cheat” and buy the plants in Spring for planting. Ours is growing like crazy! Hope yours are, too.

    • Well, that way is not “cheat” just a little faster😉 I transplanted those basil and that apple tree yesterday! Now they have their own pots! I hope they go well like yours!

    • Hello, Chef Connie. I’m so sorry to hear about your basil…but, do not be sad! We can try again and again! Those tiny, tender plants are so sensitive! Cheer up!

Please cheer me up! Thank you!

